Today I read: Trouble me Venice – An Indigenous Curator’s View of the Biennale

scale-987423_1920

In preparation for my ekskursija to the 57th Venice Biennale and out of my continued interest and research into indigenous critique, I read Ryan Rice’s review in CanadianArt Magazine. Articles and reviews such as these are of extreme importance. In my own short time in Lithuania, I have been able to discuss in academic and artistic settings about my relationship to my own indigeneity and the complex history of lands now known as Canada. What is most remarkable, is that the history and contemporary situation of indigenous people of Canada is very little known by those with whom I discuss. What this shows is that despite these conversations being held at events such as the Biennale, is that there is much work to do to alter the conception of global history.

Read here: Trouble Me Venice: An Indigenous Curator’s View of the Biennale

To be more precise, I was able to work on artwork and texts about the “Indian” Status Card and Metis citizenship during the SOURCE workshop at the Vilnius Art Academy Klaipeda Faculty. In addition, I also presented a 20 minute paper about Religion and Politics in 19th Century Canada for a course at the Vilnius University. The main thread of this paper investigated the oppositions colonial governments have and continue to pose against indigenous spiritual practices, and the current threats to indigenous spiritual practices that proposed resource extraction projects create.

Leave a Reply

